MENU  
  HOME
  TACLOBAN HOTELS
  HOTEL REVIEWS
  => REVIEWS ASIA STARS HOTEL
  => REVIEWS GRAND ROYAL SUITES HOTEL
  => REVIEWS HOTEL ALEJANDRO
  => REVIEWS HOTEL D'ANGELO
  => REVIEWS HOTEL DON FELIPE
  => REVIEWS JASMIN BEACH RESORT
  => REVIEWS LA RICA HOTEL
  => REVIEWS LEYTE PARK HOTEL
  => OLDER REVIEWS LEYTE PARK HOTEL PT.1
  => REVIEWS MACARTHUR PARK BEACH RESORT
  => REVIEWS MANHATTAN INN
  => REVIEWS ROSVENIL PENSIONE
  => REVIEWS SABIN RESORT HOTEL
  => REVIEWS TACLOBAN PLAZA HOTEL
  => PROPERTY OWNERS PAGE
  => HOTEL SUBMISSION FORM
  RENT A CAR
  GUESTHOUSE IN TACLOBAN
  DREAMTIME GUEST HOUSE TACLOBAN
  REAL ESTATE
  CAMELLA HOMES TACLOBAN CITY
  TACLOBAN NEWS
  HISTORY OF TACLOBAN
  TACLOBAN CONVENTION CENTERS
  FESTIVALS
  ATTRACTIONS
  TRAVEL GUIDE
  WOW TACLOBAN
  RESTAURANTS
  RESTAURANT REVIEWS
  TACLOBAN TRAVEL PACKAGES
  TACLOBAN NIGHTLIFE
  HOW TO GET THERE
  TRANSPORTATION
  TACLOBAN MAPS
  TACLOBAN CITY DEVELOPMENTS AND PROJECTS
  TACLOBAN CITY - A HIGHLY URBANIZED CITY - THE HUC ISSUE
  TACLOBAN CITY POLLS
  KEEP TACLOBAN CITY CLEAN
  SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGE TACLOBAN
  PHILIPPINE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS 2010
  CORRUPTION IN THE PHILIPPINES
  CAMPAIGN AGAINST DENGUE
  DONATE BLOOD - SAVE LIVES
  TANAUAN BIKINI OPEN COMPETITION 2007
  BAYAN FAMILY TIES
  FREE FILIPINA PENPALS
  PROUDLY PINOY SLIDESHOW
  FIND LOST RELATIVES & FRIENDS
  PINOY CHAT ROOMS
  TACLOBAN RELATED VIDEOS
  PHILIPPINE INDEPENDENCE DAY
  PINOY BIG BROTHER TEEN EDITION PLUS
  MADONNA DECENA
  JUSTENE JARO
  MISA CAMPO
  THE RED BUTTON
  PAC MAN
  STORM THE HOUSE
  LINK TO US
  LINKS
  RELATED LINKS
  HELP & FAQ
  OWNERS HELP & FAQ
  WHAT'S NEW?
  IMPRESSUM
  GUESTBOOK
  ABOUT US
  FEEDBACK
  CONTACT US
  Copyright © 2007 - 2016 TaclobanHotels.com
  WHAT PEOPLE IN ABROAD THINK ABOUT DUTERTE
OLDER REVIEWS LEYTE PARK HOTEL PT.1


HOME » HOTEL REVIEWS » LEYTE PARK HOTEL

Hotel Reviews
Leyte Park Hotel
>> OLDER REVIEWS PT.1 <<


Tacloban Hotels
Tacloban Hotel Reviews
Tacloban Restaurants
Tacloban Restaurant Reviews
Tacloban Real Estate

Tacloban Attractions
Tacloban Travel Guide
Tacloban Rent-a-Car
Tacloban Maps
Tacloban News

Tacloban Travel Packages
Tacloban Nightlife
Free Filipina Penpals
Find lost relatives/friends
What's NEW?






Could do better

By Big Bamboo from Olongapo, Philippines
Sep/11/2009


Overall

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time around the pool.

The service was slow but staff were cheerfull and friendly. The restaurant needs a new cook.

The place is getting old and nothing works, but still the best of a bad lot.

Date of Stay: September 2009
Liked: great time around the pool, friendly staff
Disliked: slow service, bad cook in restaurant, place is getting old, nothing works
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Never!




Disgusting!

By Walesrob from Cardiff, United Kingdom
Jul/30/2009


Overall

Being a frequent traveller to Tacloban, I've got to know nearly all the hotels in the city, and Leyte Park disappoints. Perfect location, stunning sea views, but thats it.


Says it all ... heres a dirty tourist guide book ...



Beds are probably older than the hotel

We checked in, with a standard twin-bedded room, but within 10 minutes, we checked out again and they had the cheek to charge us for one night. The pictures reveal all. Discarded cigarette butts on the balcony, beds that sank to the floor, a bathroom clearly about to fall apart and a tourist guide from 1996?!!!


Nice bathroom ... NOT!



Balcony with grey plastic tables and free discarded ...

Leyte Park has the potential to be the best hotel in Leyte, but it needs a complete overhaul, better still shut the place down and maybe rebuild it.


Date of Stay:
Nov 2006
Liked: perfect location, stunning sea views
Disliked: balcony full with old cigarette butts, very old bed sinking to the floor, bathroom falling apart
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Never!




Don't stay at Leyte Park "so-called resort"

By Paul Higgens from Melbourne, Australia
Jul/28/2009


Overall

Leyte Park may have been nice in 1994, 15 years ago when it was last renovated but now it is completely run down and filthy.

The service is appalling - complete apathy and disregard. The food is the worst I have seen on the planet. Nothing works and no one can fix it. Even the expensive Pool Villas are run down and simple things like the fans and DVD player do not work.

In out stay which was meant to be a romantic getaway we spent more time with repair staff and in dispute with management than happy together. There was no privacy becuase there was always someone coming in to the Villa to fix something or clean something that should have been done before we checked in.

Do not stay at this so-called resort, certainly never eat here. Leyte Park is an old dumping ground with rubbish everywhere yet they still charge high rates - particularly for the Pool Villa which is not up to standard. This is not suitable for any international guests.


Date of Stay:
June 2009
Liked: the pool villa would have been nice 15 years ago
Disliked: the food and service was the worst I have ever experienced
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Never!




Nice view, but that's it

By Flipper from San Marino, California, USA
Jul/10/2009


Overall

This place needs a lot of fixing. Not sure if it is wise to go here for a honeymoon. My partner was kind of shocked when we got there. So ashamed I was forced to check out and find another hotel.

It's in a very nice location but that's about it. I don't think they even maintain the building. Its like a building with no paint and nothing works.

We flew back to Makati and back to normal. Took him to Palawan and that made his trip! He's a happy camper after that. I wish management can do something to clean and fix the place.


Date of Stay:
January 2009
Liked: nice view
Disliked: no maintaining of the building, no paint, nothing works ..
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No.




We would love to stay there again

By Asprin Sydney, Australia
Jun/17/2009


Overall

We spent our honeymoon at Leyte Park in January 2007.

The staff was pleasant, the food was good, the service was excellent , we came back again in 2008 and received the same results.

I do not understand why any one would have anything negative to say about this Landmark Resort, we will return.


Date of Stay:
Jan 5th to Jan 12th 2007
Liked: pleasant staff, good food, excellent service
Disliked: nothing to dislike
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Yes




Beware the extra costs ...

By Asprin Sydney, Australia
Jun/15/2009


Overall

After renting an "apartelle" in the hotel, I was stunned when leaving to be told I owed 7,000 pesos for electricity and water. This was for 2 weeks, but after the initial room cost I was fuming at the obvious rip off of it. It really left a bad taste in my mouth (and still does).

We were told it would be an average of 1,000 pesos a week, so go figure. I can say the apartelle itself is fairly good though; with a sink, hotplate, microwave, fridge and rice cooker you can save by cooking up some local meats and veges which we did.

Make sure you keep the receipts from room service, I had another shock when checking out: they tried to charge me for everything I ordered again, saying I hadn't paid. Are you seeing a pattern here?

I will say this for the staff: At least if I asked for something like extra hangers or chairs or whatnot, they were as obliging as they could be.


Date of Stay:
June 2009
Liked: the apartelle itself is fairly good
Disliked: obvious rip off with the extra costs; they tried to charge me for everything I ordered again, saying I hadn't paid
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No




This is not a resort,
this place is a dump!

By Ntmnprops from Los Angeles, USA
Apr/28/2009


Overall

I cant believe this place is still in business, what you see in the website is just a fantasy. I have a feeling that place is not perfect but this is the only place that looks decent on the web so I took a chance. WRONG MOVE!!

This is a not a resort. I call this a dump! The government needs to shut this place down. They have no business operating a hotel in this condition.

They want 65 US dollars for this place! I have been to cheap hotels but this is the the worst hotel I have seen in my whole entire life! Tacloban is nice but this hotel.


Date of Stay:
February 2009
Liked: ...
Disliked: this place is not a resort, this place is a dump!
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No, never again!




How low can you go!?

By PhilippineTraveller from Rotterdam, Netherlands
Apr/06/2009


Overall

I've stayed several times in this hotel and each time I had a poolvilla. Problem is that the rooms are getting worse and the more often you come, the higher the price.

The management does not understand how to keep regular customers coming. They invest a minimum in reconstruction and maintanance.

After negotiating the price for the poolvilla we were brought to the poolvilla and then I noticed they were not happy with me.

First of all the keycard was kept together with tape (clue nr. 1), the door jammed (clue nr.2), 'curtains' had never been washed (clue etc.), water out of the taps got everywhere accept in the sink, showerheads fell of when I opened the tap, light in the shower didn't work and could not be repaired, the pool wasn't clean, a hole in the wall where there should be a WiFi connection. Had to use the WiFi in the lobby.

I think you get the picture now. The poolvilla's I got before were better.

Food is so so (nothing to get excited about), often had our dinner in the floating restaurant (5 minutes walk) or in the city.

The 'business center' is a joke. Staff was helpfull. The pool is cleaned with chlorine every night and you can smell it.

Make sure that you get the complimentary water. Though they claim to be a great resort, they won't give you anything unless you ask for it, the same goes for cleaning the pool at the poolvilla; you must ask.

Overall a disappointment and a shame that such a hotel is going down the hill because of bad management.


Date of Stay:
March 2009
Liked: ...
Disliked: bad management, rooms are getting worse, too much to mention
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? No




Enjoyed my stay

By Bill from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Jan/28/2009


Overall

I enjoyed my stay. The staff was friendly. The facilities need some work, but this is a nice place to stay in Tacloban. Had a great time in the pool.

The food was very good on some days and fair on others.

Have your phone numbers for Tacloban; the front desk did not have phone or contact information for local businesses.


Date of Stay:
Dec/26 2008 to Jan/01 2009
Liked: The staff was warm and friendly
Disliked: The front desk were not as knowlegeable as expected
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Yes




The hotel is on the ropes

By Kano from USA
Nov/14/2008


Overall

How did you disappoint me ? Let me count the ways.

1. No hot water. I hate cold showers. There is a tankless water heater in the shower, but it does not work. Several complaints later, I surmized that the hotel just didn't care about my hot water.

2. Hotel employees usually lounge about gawking at guest.

3. Extravagant profit margin for hotel's business center services..

4. Did I mention the lack of hot water in the shower ?

5. The fiscal plant is deplorable.

6. Extremely loud "boom box" music coming from adjacent music park.

7. The same trash I saw on arrival was in the same place when I departed.

8. Difficult or impossible to have correct room service.

9. There is no continental food. Almost exclusively Filipino food.

10. Manager is hostile.

11. Too much more to itemize.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Liked: nothing
Disliked: see above
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? no way!




Enjoyable, but ...

By Barry Donlin from Delaware, USA
Nov/07/2008


Overall

I had to pay for my water and electric useage which for my 9 day stay was$43 and $8. it takes a good 5 minutes for the water to get hot.

Try to avoid the travel agent who wanted $100 for plane fare and $11 for round trip airport transfer. I paid up front but the limo drivers and front desk insisted i did not pay.

Cottage room was $48 but quite comfortable. Room had 2 double beds. The food was just ok thin cuts of meat not worth the price. Room service was fast and all the employees were very polite and friendly.

The view was nice with the bay and mountains. Phone calls were $8. The pools are nice and the hotel has many steps. Overall it was a pleasant stay.


Date of Stay:
Oct/23 to Nov/03 2008
Liked: nice room, great view
Disliked: Pay extra for water and electric
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Most likely




Never again, if I can avoid

By Joel from Essen, Germany
Oct/26/2008


Overall



We had to stay 7 days in Tacloban and I booked a "Supreme Cottage" direct via the email-add provided at their outdatet website - everything went okay so far. I was told the cottage is 3,230.08 PHP / ~ 66$ a night (without breakfast) instead of 2,800.00 PHP which are shown on their website.



The first impression was good until I was asked to pay a deposit of 10.000 PHP while checking in - I told them that is IMHO unusual, but they said it was an order from the management. For me it seems they urgently need money .... Unfourtunalety for them, the line for transfering the creditcard information didn't work (it was a sunday) and they had to give in.



As others are telling here, this place is pretty down and not much maintenenance is done - just a bit at the pool and here not by exchanging the water, but by using more chlorine.

The pool area mostly was empty, which does not wonder, 'cause there is no shadow at all. Asking for sunshade we were told the umbrellas were blown away by the last typhoon


The "Supreme Cottages" are quite big with a huge wardrobe. The room itself was so lala, equiped with an outdated but working aircon and TV and not worth 66$.

Bathrooms is large as well and aside a shower there is a tub. But the bathrooms floor was painted last time some couples of years ago - since it was done bad, its might have looked ugly at that time already. The only mirror is provided at bathrooms door, so if you want to shave yourself you have to turn away from the sink and go to the door...



The stuff was friendly, as most philippino in the business are. I won't call them lazy, maybe a bit demotivated. They just follow the orders and of course they are the ones, which have to face complains first.

But simple requests like to fill up the minibar with some juices, are often met with confusion. We asked for two canned pineapple and two orange juices. First we were served two glasses of juice at the room. On the second attempt we were served four glasses at the room. Success on the third run.



Avoid the miserable "breakfast buffet" - the other food also is pretty crappy measured on "luxury hotel" standards; in seven days they have not been able to provide a soft and tender chicken breast. Tried it three times and always get a shoe sole.

For eating better walk the short way down to San Pedro's restaurant (the floating restaurant) to the left of the complex. The food there is very good.



Some remarks to their "Fact Sheet" :

private terrace in all rooms:
well, ours was very private and quiet, 'cause it looked so ugly, no one would like to sit there. We never did. Aside that only some old and dirty plastic chairs were provided.



minibar with coffee/tea setup:
tea and coffee was there but after an eight hour journey you need something cold, right? When getting to the room we found the fridge was switched off and we were told to preorder the first filling. If you know your customers arrive late afternoon on a certain day, is it such a big thing to check the room in the morning before customer arrives and prepare the minibar with some beers and softdrinks?



Wi-Fi internet accessibility:
yepp, but only at the lobby and the affiliated cafe (which might be before what they called the "park cafe" - to the right of the reception) - it never was setup to accomodate guests.

No one who would ask if you would like to drink or eat something, no ashtrays provided without asking for them. I always felt unwanted here so I just decided to go there to quick sync my emails.

At the fifth day I again was asked to pay my balance (23.100 php = ~ 473 $) because "I exceeded my credit limit".
I got a bit upset here. I mean, on the first hand I'm a guest, not an account holder, who overdrew his bank account. Nore I'm a fraudster, but by this I felt treated like one.

I asked for the manager, but he didn't show up, so I payed my balance. Management wasn't seen again since then and we left the hotel two days later, happy to get out there.

Date of Stay: October, 2008
Liked: The great view over San Pedros Bay
Disliked: Room, absence of maintenance, minimum service, restaurant
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? no way!




My stay was very unpleasant

By Mhe Mhe
Sep/05/2008


Overall

This place is in a bad shape and needs to be renovated, the sheets are not very clean, specially the towels in the bathroom that I needed most. Well I'm planing not to book again!!

Liked: none
Disliked: Sheets and towels in the bathroom not very clean
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? no way!




Horrible horrible .........
Will never come back!!

By LaTrader from La Crescenta, CA, USA
Sep/05/2008


Overall

The lobby is one of the worst i have seen in my life. This Hotel needs total Renovation. Painting the room yellow is not a renovation.

When we checked in we were shocked on the hotel and room condition. Sheets were dirty, bathroom is scary, phone was not working, you have workers looking like terrorist watching you while you enter the room and that makes you feel unsafe.

I dont think they even bothered to paint the exterior since the 70's when Imelda Marcos used to own it.

It only took us 15 minutes to decide to check out and move to another hotel. It has fabulous view but thats it. I have been to bad Hotels but this tops the list. This is worst than a sleazy Motel 8 in the really bad part of East LA. What a shame............

In all fairness the view is fabulous and staff is nice and honest but thats not enough for customers to pay $60.00. This needs to be shut down and be renovated properly.

Liked: none
Disiked: everything except the staff and the view
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? no way!




Lazy Park Resort??

By Patrick from Singapore
Aug/09/2008

Overall:  

We vacated Lazy Park Resort?? As our request there to repair a Dismal Drip of a shower had not been done for 3 days!!!! We were expected to use next door's shower in a dilapidated unfurnished room!!!

Food awful. Looked stale/reheated. A shame on the (???) management. Definately a PLACE TO FORGET.

We moved to a Pensione downtown and had a great welcome and stayed at 1/3 the rip Off Lazy Park prices.

Liked: Great pool and views.
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? Never again!





I'll go back again

By Duc from Rotterdam, Netherlands
May/03/2008

Overall:

I've stayed in Leyte Park in march 2008. First I was given a little house near the pool. This place was a bit depressing (dark, small). So I asked for a poolvilla (with a private pool). I got this with a discount (just ask).

My stay there was fine, the poolvilla was nice (a cockroach now and then but who cares), the food was good.

For tourism there is not much to see. I rented a car with chauffeur for PHP 1.500 (€ 25 or $ 35) and went to Samar, the Gen. Macarthur Memorial and the house that Pres. Marcos and his wife had in Tacloban City. It is now a museum and you can visit it and get a tour for PHP 230. It's worth seeing.

The city itself is old and traffic can be very chaotic (there are no stoplights so everyone tries to cross the streets at the same time). I'll go back and stay at Leyte Park again.  






Fair at best

By John N.
Feb/26/2008

Overall:

As it says in other reviews there are major renovations going on. Only one restaurant is operating and the food was so-so. The pool bar and disco are long since closed. On the plus side there are very nice restaurants within walking distance, it is close to the mall and the view of Samar Island from the room is incredible.




Taclobans beach hotel

by John Raymond from Wisconsin, USA

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

Dec/24/2007

Overall

I stopped by during the busy season and was overwhelmingly suprised at finding a vacancy. There are not many choices for hotels in the area, and staying downtown didn't really apeal to me.

Hotel price was a little more expensive than what I thought it was worth, but they kind of have a corner on the market here! Room was clean but nothing really special! 20% discount if paying cash.

Standard: 2,512 pesos per night. Executive: 3,245 pesos per night. Quadruplex: 3,250 per night. Family room: 3,670 per night. Supreme suite: 5,375 per night. Pool Villa: 10,000 per night Hotel had Ok amenities. Hotel Restraunt way OK, but nothing to rave about. the pool was nice, and OK place to stay.




Tired Grand Dame

by Goodpace, Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

Dec/08/2007

Overall


The ideal location on the cusp of the waters of Tacloban was probably once a majestic beachside property when Imelda ran the show. It is now an acceptable place to enjoy the great view and grab a night's rest, but don't fool yourself it will be luxury.


It is barely inhabited and the logistics of running the large estate seems to have won out over the incapable management. Duct tape seems to be the cure-all to every problem that has arisen over the last decade.

I was unsuccessful ingetting the staff to answer my emails for a reservation, but they said they will respond to [--] and their phone is [--] and fax [--]

My charge after walking in off the street was 2100 pesos. It is in a decent location and trikes can get you where you need to go in under a half hour. This includes the airport and the MacArthur Monument.

I was fortunate enough to get a semi-newly renovated room with an excellent view. The furnishings are utilitarian and the upkeep had me concerned. It was purely functional.

The pool was a nice touch and the location and view soothing. Just a shame this once gorgeous property is falling on ill-repair.

Date of Stay: November, 2007
Liked
— The view
Disliked
— infrastructure
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend?most likely





The resort has been described as "run down", "falling apart" might be closer to the truth.

by Genghois

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

 
Nov/20/07
Overall:
 

Stayed at Leyte Park Resort, which is finally in the process of renovations. The renovated rooms look really nice, at first, but after a few minutes you realize that they haven't actually replaced or improved anything, just put some nice coats of paint on, to brighten it up. The rotary dial phone should have been a dead giveaway!

Some of the "improvements", like the new faucet on the sink, are so badly executed that it doesn't open properly because it's too high and the frame for the mirror interferes with opening it. And they now stock the fridges, but they still keep them unplugged. Which is kind of scary when they're keeping juices and beers in it, products with limited shelf life that are meant to be kept refrigerated. So I plugged the fridge in and within a day everything inside was frozen solid!

And even besides that the electricals are a little scary. I plugged my Ipod dock into the wall...well actually not into the wall, into my voltage converter which was plugged into the wall, which shouldn't be necessary...and when I went to touch the Ipod I got a shock off of it!

And the service is equally bad. My first day my room wasn't cleaned at all. Second day they show up at 10:00 and I tell them to come back in 30 minutes because I'm just getting into the shower. I'm gone within 30 min. and when I come back, five and a half hours later, they still hadn't cleaned my room! I had to go to the front desk and ask them to send someone, and it was still another hour before it was done. That trend basically continued for the rest of my stay.

But for all of its problems, it's still a beautiful location and relatively convenient to the rest of the city. And most of the staff (and even the guys doing the renovations) were very friendly. Even the trike drivers and others along del Pilar, outside the resort, got used to seeing me after a few days and were always very friendly.





Will stay again

by a contributor

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

 
Nov/15/07
Overall:
 

Probably the best hotel in Tacloban, we were there in May 2007.

Great location there is a restaurant and floating bar located on the pier in the hotel compound, another restaurant attached to the lobby.

Local transportation will get you where you need to go and the rooms are only 1600P a night for a bungalow with air-conditioning.

Not a lot to do locally unless you know some locals, but a nice place to stay. McDonnalds is just a 30P ride in a tricycle, or 6P in a jeep.

Date of Stay: May, 2007




Doubtful I would ever stay there again

by Ryan S

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

 
Nov/04/07
Overall:
 

A fairly decent hotel but badly needing renovations. Actually they are renovating now but very slowly.

Not a nice beach but a nice pool. Restaurant is ok with limited menu. This place is boring if u r alone. Did see a cockroach in my cr one time.

A little expensive, probably a nice place when it was built but now is run down. I stayed in a cottage room near the pool. Seems mostly to survive on conventions. They have rooms with private pools but cost 10,000p per night.

Probably a nice place back when F. Marcos built it for his wife but now almost a ghost town, not many other guests.

Date of Stay: Jan, 2007




Dying to go back

by a contributor from Berkley California

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

 
Aug/15/07
Overall:

 

This is an excellent hotel in Tacloban. The service is very good. I love the foods with their room service. The price is very reasonable.The service is very fast.

I love the Lapu-Lapu fish, I ordered them almost every dinner.The dinaing na bangus was also superb. Only to my surprise why the tomatoes are still green.

I only have one pet peeve is about their towels. It was very hard...please use clothes softener. But I still would love to go back and stay.

I love the cottages close to the pool and ocean. I stayed in their hotel room when I arrived from Manila, then we came back with my family and rented 3 cottages. We have a blast. My nephews and neices enjoyed swimming at night. They're asking me when we gonna go back to the hotel. Keep up the good work.

Date of Stay: September, 2004








Oh dear

by a Contributor from Europe

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

 
Aug/13/2007
Overall:
 

This hotel is in a very poor state of repair. At present it is supposed to be in the middle of an extensive restoration but painting the roof and cutting the grass will just not be the answer. I wont be staying there again unless they improve almost every aspect of the place. Its a shame because it's in a beautiful setting and has been a quality hotel in the past.

Date of Stay: Jul, 2007





Leyte Park Hotel will return

by Sam_888, NYC, US

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

Aug/08/2007

Overall:



Our Trip to Leyte was a sentimental journey. My husband is a son of a US War Veteran and it was he who plan our travel so that we can visit at Red Beach Palo, and other sites my father-in-law loved to retell all over again. It was just timely because, Tacloban City is in a merry mood celebrating its annual fiesta last June 2007.


We book through internet at Leyte Park Resort Hotel. When you enter the vast estate, the trees are perfect but landscaping is a so so. We learned later the hotel existed for 27 years and a government property. Its a hilltop and wow, what a sight when you enter the lobby, mostly made of wood and indigenous materials only wood hand railings are a bit dilapidated.

Our room is the standard renovated room. It has 2 huge beds, with TV, DVD. The individual terrace in each room has a perfect view of a mountain and a gentle bay. It has adult and kiddie swimming pools. The rate is $44, not bad. The hotel is undergoing renovation a bit noisy with all the hammer and grilling, a bit inconvenient but great since room makes you comfortable.

The Front Office Staffs are good, service crew are courteous and smiling. The staff offer their Pool Villa, my husband can't resist since our two children love it. We take advantage of the special discount. We stayed there on our 5th and last day. It's a fantabulous villa like those in Bali Indonesia, with a private infinity swimming pool overlooking a gentle bay and a mountain, cascading waters, king size bed, dining area, mini garden and wi-fi connection--- a treat for $200!

Veranda Cafe offers variety menu for a buffet meal.. but a restaurant within the compound that has international cuisine has a lot to offer at San Pedro Restaurant 300 meters from the main building.

We went to war shrines at MacArthur Shrine with a great view of the Leyte Gulf. Then went to Hill21 in Du;ag, an hour from the city. CAP Building where there are war memorials. Visited also the Leyte Capitol where Gen MacArthur once hold office. The city is not so clean. A Sto. Niño Shrine boasts of collections of Former First Lady's Travels abroad.


Back to hotel, its highly recommended if you want serenity, value for money and a fantastic view.


Date of Stay:
June, 2007







Very bad, dilapidated hotel

by Mark Leuven, Belgium

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

July/15/2007

Overall:


Our stay at the Leyte Park Hotel was far from pleasant. After check-in we settled in our room and went down for dinner.

That first night we immediately had a taste of the entertainment as we witnessed how some guests at the restaurants boozed themselves to a stupour and then started smashing the beer bottles and threatening the staff. Eventually the police had to be called in to bring the situation back under control.

The next day upon going to the breakfast area I was approached by the hotel reception and told that I needed to settle the hotel bill. I had previously (several months) before arrival at the hotel pre-paid the bill to the local travel agent the hotel works with. It turned out the agency had never transferred my payment.

In the following days a constant discussion about the biil ensued. I refused to pay again seeing that the hotel in my opinion does have some responsibility with regard to the travel agencies they work with. They should make sure to work only with trustworthy ones.

I also refused to pay again mainly because this scam could happen any time again when someone would make a reservation. Eventually at check-out I only paid the incidentals. The manager was very courteous and reasonable.

Obviously the entire experience marred our stay. The rooms however are in a very poor state of disrepair and are definitely extremely overpriced. Expect tired furniture, cracked mirrors, calcium deposits on the tabs in the bathroom, peeling paint etc.

The hotel is in a fine location. The restaurant has very limited items on the menu. The entertainment (the officially hired one) is very basic and simple.

In a nutshell : avoid when possible.

Date of Stay: January, 2006
Liked
— The friendly problem solving oriented manager
Disliked
— the poor, dirty dilapidated state

Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? no way!








Tacloban's Prominent Hotel Landmark

by Lynnette from Cebu Island, PH

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

May/16/07

Overall:

 

Leyte Park Hotel is a top end hotel in Tacloban. SR/DR/ac/bath P2250-P4800. The best hotel in Tacloban with 100 well-furnished rooms and 50 cottages/villas, all with refrigerator and TV. Beautifully located, directly on San Pedro Bay, it has a restaurant, fitness room, swimming pool and airport service.

Attractive hotel with great views on the pool area.






Fawlty Towers (english TV comedy of a hotel with John Cleese)

by Alex, England

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

March/28/2007

Overall:


When you approach the hotel up their wide sweeping drive, i thought WOW the hotel entrance reminded me of plush carribean resorts i have stayed in the past, but that is where the fantasy finishes!!

The hotel is going through a major renovation so there are piles of debris all out the back, but the view from our room was stunning , and thats what i came for a sea view, and thats what we got. The room we had was very good it was a refurbished room(costs 400 peso more), nice balcony with chairs and table.

The swimming pool was fantastic we had it to ourselves for the whole week. Dinning forget it!!! Nearly everday we went out to the alanjandro hotel in Tacloban for breakfast as leyte park had no cornflakes and bananas, ( my must for breakfast), also no bread rolls, no fresh fruit.

The hotel has a restaraunt called san pedro bay, the food was good, but get there before 9 .00 pm as their phill fish chef goes home then!! The hotel front reception staff were really helpfull, and would really try to help you.

Date of Stay: March, 2007
Liked
— sea view
Disliked
— No billiards , very poor restaraunt food., no free internet connection in room
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? most likely

 





Magnificently Run Down

by thecrossbowkid, Bradenton, Florida

Location: Magsaysay Boulevard, Tacloban City, Leyte, Philippines

Jan/07/2007

Overall

I have been coming to Tacloban for extended stays for a few years and have stayed at Leyte Park many times along with other local hotels and have this to share:

Cons-
The staff are friendly but lazy and incompetent (hence the nickname "Lazy Park"). Simple requests (like an extra pillow) are often met with confusion. This place is pretty run down. Many of the old features are broken and rusting or decaying away. Many of the rooms smell of mold and the bedding stinks a little. The food is pretty crappy by "luxury hotel" standards, especially the miserable "breakfast buffet" (avoid). Everywhere are signs of wear and time- virtually nothing is invested in maintinance. Imelda should be ashamed of what they have done to her once magnificent creation.

Pros-
This hotel is the only "luxury" game in town, after all, Tacloban City is not exactly a tourist mecca. Although the Hotel Alejandro is cleaner and nicer, it sits amid the smog and noise of the downtown while Leyte Park has magnificent waterfront views and clean air. The artistic vision of the hotel is exotic and unique with lots of wood and tropical motifs. This hotel has definite Character with a capital "C". The pool is large and deep (a little green) and they even have a small swim up bar. The hotel is huge and has nice grounds to walk around. The Leyte Park is commonly almost empty, so it is quiet and you will have most of the place to yourself. The rooms are large with fantastic views of the Leyte Gulf and Samar. The McArthur Park nearby is billed as a "luxury" resort but it's is far, far inferior. Be sure to check out Linda David, their resident musician- she performs 5 nites a week and is a pleasure to listen to (she played at my wedding).

Other advice:

A refrigerator is included with the room. Plug it in and fill it up to avoid hotel rip off prices.

You can haggle like hell on the hotel price- I scored a standard room for about $32 USD for 9 days- not bad. Offer to pay cash for the full amount up front and watch the price drop. Ask for a %10 discount for any particular reason and they will listen- this is a bargaining culture.

To eat, avoid the hotel and goto the Floating Resturant a short walk outside the complex. It is serene and the food is very good. Other good dining options in town include the Ocho seafood resturaunt, The Royal Resturaunt for Chinese and Guiseppe's for Italian- top of the line.

Do not pay more than 15 pesos per person for local trike rides leaving from the Leyte Park complex to the downtown. When they see you are white they will try to scam you- agree on a price before getting in and repeat it so you are both sure what was agreed on. The trike drivers are mostly thieves and scoundrels- do not encourage them by overpaying.

For culture, check out the Santo Nino Shirine to marvel at the eclectic collection of foreign luxury items accumulated by the thieving Marcoses. It is only a few pesos to enter and is good for an hour or two- be sure to get a guided tour.

For late nite entertainment, goto Cue Balls for karaoke. It is THE place for the Hoi Paloy of Tacloban- classy and fun with state of the art karaoke machines. They usually have professional comedians and backup singers to keep things rolling.

Happy Travels!

Date of Stay: January, 2007
Liked — Massive Hotel- Big Pool- Beautiful Views
Disliked — Run Down- Completely Incompetent Staff
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? most likely





    
<<< CLICK HERE FOR NEWER REVIEWS
            
LEYTE PARK HOTEL

 





*This reviews are the subjective opinions of Tacloban Hotel Travellers and not of TaclobanHotels.com.






DO YOU KNOW MORE ABOUT
LEYTE PARK HOTEL?

WRITE YOUR OWN HOTEL REVIEW.
SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES!
CONTRIBUTE YOUR KNOWLEDGE AND BECOME A VITAL PART OF OUR
COMMUNITY.

[contact us]





TACLOBAN WEATHER  
   
LIKE THIS WEBSITE?  
   
CURRENCY CONVERTER  
   
SPONSORED LINKS  
   
DONATE BLOOD - SAVE LIVES